Our Team

HQ Team

Since 2018, Arkwright Engineering Scholarships have been administered by The Smallpeice Trust, the UK’s leading STEM Education Charity with over 50 years’ experience of helping young people develop the confidence to fulfil their potential. The team responsible for administering Arkwright Engineering Scholarships has been based at The Smallpeice Trust’s office since 2001.

The Arkwright Engineering Scholarships programme team, led by The Smallpeice Trust’s Chief Executive, is an integral part of the Trust and supported by a UK wide team, as shown below.

Arkwright Engineering Scholarships Programme Team:

 Front row, left to right:

  • Angela Bailey - Business Development Administrator
  • Poppy James - Administration Co-ordinator
  • Kate James - Senior Operations Co-ordinator
  • Georgina Hare (MInstF) - Third Sector Partnerships Manager
  • Katie Taylor - Administration Co-ordinator

Back row, left to right:

  • Simon Wilson - Arkwright Engineering Scholarships Programme Manager
  • Dr Alan R Begg (FIMechE FIMMM MA PhD)  - Company Chairman
  • Dr Kevin P Stenson - Chief Executive
  • Steve Kay - Private Sector Partnerships Manager


UK-wide Schools Liaison Officers

Liaison Officers are the 'backbone' of Arkwright's interaction with schools.

The team of Liaison Officers is made up of retired Headteachers, Teachers, Careers Advisors and Engineers. Liaison Officers are the face of Arkwright at local level, liaising with new and already-affiliated schools and mentoring our Scholars. The team is actively involved with the selection of candidates, delivery of Arkwright's events, and provides the Chief Executive with an up-to-date view of affiliated schools and Scholars.

Affiliated schools can direct any questions about the Arkwright Engineering Scholarships to the programme team or to their local Liaison Officer.

The Liaison Officers' team consists of:

  • North Scotland Region - Graeme Mitchell
  • South Scotland Region - Ian Bell
  • Northern Ireland Region - Sean Connolly
  • Cumbria & Lancashire Region - Phil Taylor
  • North East Region - Andrew Hayday
  • Cheshire, Wirral & Merseyside Region - Graham Collins
  • Yorkshire Region - Andrew Day
  • North Midlands, Peak District & Sheffield Region - Donna Barker
  • East Midlands Region - Tim Hayday
  • West Midlands, Worcestershire & Warwickshire - David Wright
  • East Anglia & Cambridgeshire - Sharn Crane
  • Herefordshire, Gloucestershire & Wiltshire - David Oyns
  • South West Region - Nick Moon
  • Mid Central Region - Carlton Forbes
  • North East London & South Essex - Stephen Cornish
  • South London & Kent Region - Matt Woodward
  • Middlesex & North West London Region - John Coleman
  • South East & South West London Region - Tricia York


Working Group

The Working Group is made up of highly experienced teachers, examiners, moderators and engineers, along with Arkwright Alumni, to ensure the rigour of the Arkwright Aptitude Exam.

The group consists of:

Jim Ashworth
Software Engineer, FINBOURNE Technology
Arkwright Engineering Scholar 2008

Amanda Attfield
Head of Design and Technology Berkhamsted School

Ian Bell
Member of the Aptitude Exam Working Group and Arkwright Liaison Officer
Examiner and Moderator for SQA Engineering Science (Retired)
Head of Craft Design and Technology, Boroughmuir High School Edinburgh (Retired)
Principal Teacher at The Royal Blind School, Edinburgh (Retired)

John Coleman
Chair of Aptitude Exam Working Group and Arkwright Liaison Officer
Chief Examiner and Principal Moderator for AQA GCSE Product Design (Retired)
Head of Design and Technology, Merchant Taylors’ School Northwood (Retired)
ISI Inspector (Retired)

Bill Cumming

Jeff Draisey
AQA GCSE Design & Technology: Assistant Principal Moderator, NEA Advisor, Centre Quality Assurer, Independent Appeals Reviewer
Head of Design & Technology, Balcarras School, Cheltenham (Retired)
Co-author AQA endorsed, Nelson Thornes GCSE D&T: Product Design textbook and Nelson Thornes KS3 D&T Resistant Materials textbook

Robert Johnstone
Director of The Design Faculty, Whitgift School, South Croydon (Retired)
Mechanical Engineer (Retired)
ISI Inspector (Retired)

Phil Taylor
Head of Design and Technology, Clitheroe Royal Grammar School (Retired)
Team Leader Moderator, AQA GCSE Design and Technology
NEA Adviser, AQA GCSE Design and Technology
Arkwright Liaison Officer

Keith Wilkin
Owner/Director, Contrel Ltd – suppliers of bespoke electronic control systems
Ex Head of Engineering Technology, The Perse School, Cambridge

With their expertise in the fields of Design & Technology and Engineering Science across the country they set the Aptitude Exam, mark the candidates' scripts and assist with the interviewing of shortlisted candidates. The group provides advice on the developments in the various UK STEM curricula, to ensure that Arkwright is providing affiliated Schools and Sponsors with a scheme which supports their needs.